Workflow
Learn how to create a journey workflow - select a trigger, condition, control, and action to activate your workflow.

Working with components

Adding, editing, and connecting components

Every journey is a set of components connected to a flow.
  • To add a component, click on the component you want to add or you can drag & drop it onto the board with your left mouse button.
  • To edit a component, double-click the component with your left mouse button. This will open a component-specific edit window. Click "save" after you are done.
  • To remove a component, select the component by clicking it with your left mouse button and then click on the trash icon.
  • To connect two components, click on the output connector on the right side of the first component and drag the line to the input connector on the left side of the second component, as shown in the animation below. Release your mouse once connected.
    • Now you have created a flow. Customers will pass through this flow starting from a trigger (e.g. On event) to operators (e.g. Has done event) and finally into actions (e.g. Send email).

Moving, zooming, and selecting multiple components

You can move your position on the canvas by clicking on an empty space and dragging your mouse. You can delete all selected components by pressing backspace on your keyboard. Zoom in or out using your mouse wheel. If using a touchpad, you can also move by sliding 2 fingers and zoom in/out by pinching 2 fingers.
You can also click on the minimap in the bottom right corner to navigate your position.

Journey creation

Select a trigger

The most important part in building your Journey is to add the Trigger(s), based on which users will experience the Journey. You can think of Triggers as entry points that qualify users against the parameters specified by you.
These parameters could be anything like:
  • Event is performed by the user on your app/website.
  • User enters or exits a segment

Add Conditions and Controls

Once a user enters the Journey through a trigger, they immediately experience the next block it connects to. Depending on your engagement strategy, the Entry Trigger can be succeeded by a Condition or Flow Control.
Conditions: These are checkpoints that help you contextually personalize the journey experience for each user based on their behavior and preferences in real-time. They work on a simple Yes-No logic allowing you to create different Flows for users in the journey.
Controls: These help you determine the duration over which users experience the journey and contextually end the journey for each user.

Select an action

Action blocks are points of user engagement that help you deliver contextually personalized messages in real-time through each user's preferred channel like, SMS, email, and more.

Activating the journey

Start a journey

Once all the actions are configured, you can save the journey and start engaging your users.
Click on the "Start Journey" button and make sure that all nodes are fully configured.

Schedule a journey

By default, every journey starts immediately after you select “Start Journey”.
However, if want the journey to begin at a different time, select the “Schedule” option.
If the scheduled date is selected, users will start entering the journey only after the specified date.

Journey validation

In the journey builder, users can freely drag-drop different objects on the canvas without realizing that some of them might have missing configurations.
To make sure there are no situations when the user starts the journey with missing information (like missing “email to” field in the “Send email” action - this would lead to errors and non-functional journeys), we need to validate if all the necessary information is filled in each journey node before the journey is launched.
Journey validation needs to be triggered after the user clicks on the “Start Journey” button.

Journey statuses

  • Draft - journey that was created but not yet started.
  • Active - journey that was started and is active.
  • Scheduled - journey that is scheduled to start in the future. Once the scheduled time arrives, the status changes from “Scheduled” to “Running”.
  • Paused - journey is paused - no new users can enter it but the old ones can finish the journey.
  • Stopped - journey is permanently stopped - all actions in the journey are halted. A stopped journey can’t be republished.

Changing journey statuses

  • Pause will temporarily halt the qualification of new users in the Journey. You can use the resume to continue the journey. Users already in the journey will continue traveling through the journey or receiving messages. You can bulk pause or bulk resume paused journeys from the Journey listing page.
  • Stop will completely halt the journey. A stopped journey cannot be restarted. It will stop the qualification of new users, any user movement within the journey, and sending out any campaigns.
  • Edit opens up the journey builder and allows you to make changes to your existing journey. When you republish the journey with the new changes, all users added to the journey follow this journey. The previous journey is saved as an older version. All contacts added to the older journey will follow steps as they were until the point of change.

Note regarding editing journeys:

  • The current version will be overridden and the draft version once published will become your active version.
  • Users that enter the Journey after it has been republished will flow into the new blocks.
  • New users post republish will be onboarded
  • Users belonging to the following blocks along the journey will flow into the new blocks:
    • Delays triggers that haven’t expired yet
    • Email actions like open, click, or similar ones